CCFOI Meeting Minutes — Oct. 18, 2022

Connecticut Council on Freedom of Information
Minutes, Oct. 18, 2022 awards luncheon

The luncheon was at Pond House Café, West Hartford.

The annual awards luncheon is traditionally combined with the annual meeting, which takes place in June. Due to the pandemic, the luncheon was initially planned for September and then delayed until October. The award winners were finalized via email in the months that followed the June 15, 2022 annual meeting.

Annual awards: The Bice Clemow award goes to a non-journalist, the Stephen A. Collins award goes to a journalist, and the Champion of Open Government award goes to journalists and non- journalists.

Collins award winner: David Collins, columnist for The Day, for his work on the Connecticut Port Authority’s state pier project in New London.

Clemow award winner: State Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, D-Fairfield, for her work to ensure online public access to government information.

Champion award winners: Yale Law School’s Media Freedom and Information Access Clinic, Cynthia Cannata of the FOIC, Mary Schwind of the FOIC and David Fink of the Connecticut Foundation for Open Government.

Looking ahead: The next CCFOI meeting will be back to our regular schedule via Zoom, the third Wednesday of the month, on Nov. 16, 2022.