Task Force on Victim Privacy and the Public’s Right to Know

Task Force on Victim Privacy and the Public’s Right to Know is studying until Dec. 31 legislation passed by the Connecticut General Assembly last session that would require crime scene photos and portions of 911 calls to the police to remain secret and not be released to the public. These exemptions to the FOI Act are for all homicides in the state.The legislature named the 17-member task force to issue a report and find a balance between the people’s right to know and personal privacy of victims and their families.
The task force members are:

Governor Appointees:
1.  Andrew Woods of Hartford Communities that Care (crime victim advocacy group)
2.  Jillian Knox, New Haven Police Department (municipal law enforcement)

FOI Appointees :
3.  Colleen Murphy, Executive Director, Freedom of Information Commission
4.  Jim Smith, appointee from CT Council on FOI (retired CT newspaper editor)

CSPJ Appointees :
5.  Don DeCesare, Radio, CBA, Pres. WLIS & WMRD Radio
6.  Klarn DePalma, TV, CBA, Gen’l Mgr., WFSB-TV (Channel 3)
7.  Brian Koontz, Print, Metro Editor CT Post
8.  Jodie Mozdzer-Gil, Internet, CSPJ Board Pres., Asst. Prof. SCSU
9.  Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane
10. Chief Public Defender Susan O. Storey
11. Chief Victim Advocate Garvin G. Ambrose
12. Commissioner Emergency Services & Public Protection Reuben F. Bradford
13. Professor William Dunlap, Quinnipiac University School of Law
14. Senator Eric D. Coleman
15. State Rep. Angel Arce, D-4 (Hartford)
16. State Senate Len Fasano, R-34 (N. Haven, Wallingford)
17. State Representative Debra Lee Hovey

Don DeCesare and Rep. Angel Arce