CCFOI Meeting Minutes — June 15, 2022

Connecticut Council on Freedom of Information
Annual Meeting Minutes, June 15, 2022

The annual meeting was at the home of Mitch Pearlman, 35 Bunker Hill Road, Glastonbury.

Present: Mike Savino, Michele Jacklin, Mary Connolly, Tom Scheffey, Gary Gold, Steve Nevas, Jacqueline Smith, Colleen Murphy, Mitch Pearlman.

Treasurer’s report: Kim Phillips was unable to attend but submitted her June 2022 treasurer’s report. The balance is $14,510.45.

Election of Officers: Officers for the next year were nominated and unanimously elected. They are President Mike Savino, Vice President Tom Scheffey, Secretary Mary Connolly, Treasurer Jacqueline Smith and Legislative Co-Chairs Michele Jacklin and Jeff Daniels. Gary Gold, Steve Nevas, Mitch Pearlman and Chris Powell continue as directors.

Scheffey replaced Jacklin, who had been serving in two positions. Smith replaced Kim Phillips, who resigned as treasurer. The board agreed Smith will be a signer on our Webster Bank account. The board agreed Pearlman will remain as a second signer on the Webster account.

President’s report: Savino discussed the contract with our lobbying firm Kozak & Salina. Liz Gemski is our lobbyist. The contract will expire in 2022. There was unanimous agreement that Savino be authorized to negotiate a new contract with Kozak & Salina.

Awards luncheon: The annual meeting traditionally takes place in June during our awards luncheon. This year, the awards luncheon was postponed due to continuing concerns about the spread of COVID at indoor events. There was agreement to plan an awards luncheon in September. Award winners were discussed.

Looking ahead: The next CCFOI meeting will be an awards luncheon in September at Pond House Café in West Hartford. The date has not been set.